Saville Lectures

Dudley A. Saville

Dudley A. Saville

In memory of our colleague, Princeton University’s Department of Chemical Engineering has established the Dudley A. Saville Lectureship for exceptional early-career chemical engineers and scientists. Inspired by his family and colleagues, this series reflects Dudley Saville’s longtime association with Princeton, his uncompromising pursuit of excellence, and his commitment to helping young people begin their academic careers. In his nearly 40 years at Princeton University, he pioneered new directions in fluid mechanics, especially electrohydrodynamics. Although Dudley’s emphasis was always on fundamentals, the practical applications of his research spanned protein crystallization, electrohydrodynamic printing, enhanced oil recovery, patterning of colloidal crystals, and fluid behavior in microgravity, including an experiment flown on the Space Shuttle Columbia.

Dudley was also a pillar supporting the department’s educational mission. Whether teaching thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, engineering mathematics, or transport phenomena, his classes were distinguished by their mathematical rigor and clarity of exposition. A demanding instructor, he earned the respect of generations of chemical engineering students.

In 1997, he received the Alpha Chi Sigma Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers; in 2001, he was named the Stephen C. Macaleer ’63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science; and in 2003 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the highest professional recognition for an American engineer.

2020 Saville Lecturer: Bryan W. Boudouris

Bryan W. Boudouris is the Robert and Sally Weist Associate Professor in the Charles D. Davidson School of Chemical Engineering and an associate professor (by courtesy) in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University. He received his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2004. After receiving his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 2009, he conducted postdoctoral research from 2009 to 2011 under the supervision of Professor Rachel Segalman at the University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Since joining Purdue University in 2011, he has been the recipient of a number of awards including the Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Program (AFOSR YIP) award, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Young Faculty Award (DARPA YFA), the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, the American Physical Society – UK Polymer Physics Group Lectureship, and the College of Engineering Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award and College of Engineering Early Career Research Award at Purdue University. His group’s current research interests include the design, nanostructural characterization, and implementation of homopolymers and block polymers in applications that encompass: polymer-based energy conversion and bioelectronic sensing devices; membranes with high fluxes and high selectivities; high-performance gas sensors that are functionalized with soft materials; and the creation of photopolymerized materials using continuous 3-dimensional (3D) nanoprinting.

Wed, Apr 8, 2019, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Andlinger Center (Maeder Hall Auditorium)

Previous Lecturers in the Series


Heather J. Kulik

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Mikhail G. Shapiro

California Institute of Technology


Bradley D. Olsen

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Lea A. Goentoro

California Institute of Technology


Arthi Jayaraman

University of Delaware


M. Scott Shell

University of California, Santa Barbara


Ryan C. Hayward

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

2013 Hang Lu

Georgia Institute of Technology

2012 Todd Squires

University of California, Santa Barbara


Yi Tang

University of California, Los Angeles


Bartosz Grzybowski

Northwestern University


Thomas M. Truskett

University of Texas at Austin