Wilhelm Lectures

Richard H. Wilhelm
Richard H. Wilhelm
This distinguished lectureship honors the memory of Richard H. Wilhelm, a graduate of Columbia University who spent his entire professional career at Princeton University. He joined the Department of Chemical Engineering in 1934 and served as chairman from 1954 until his death in 1968. In recognition of his distinguished teaching, he was named Henry Putnam University Professor by Princeton University and given the Warren K. Lewis Award in Chemical Engineering Education by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

For his research leadership in numerous areas of chemical reaction engineering, he received from the AIChE the William H. Walker Award in 1951 and the Professional Progress Award in 1952 and the Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry from the American Chemical Society in 1966. In 1968 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the highest professional distinction that can be conferred upon an American engineer.

In 1973, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers established the R.H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering, presented each year to an individual in recognition of significant and new contributions in the field. The Richard H. Wilhelm Lectureship was established through the generosity of his colleagues, friends, and students.

2019 Wilhelm Lecturer: Paula T. Hammond

Professor Paula T. Hammond is the David H. Koch Chair Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering. She is a member of MIT’s Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, the MIT Energy Initiative, and a founding member of the MIT Institute for Soldier Nanotechnology. Her research in nanomedicine encompasses the development of new biomaterials to enable drug delivery from surfaces with spatio-temporal control. She also investigates novel responsive polymer architectures for targeted nanoparticle drug and gene delivery, and has developed self-assembled materials systems for electrochemical energy devices.

Professor Paula Hammond was elected into the National Academy of Science in 2019, the National Academy of Engineering in 2017, and the National Academy of Medicine in 2016. She was elected into the 2013 Class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She won the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science in 2018, and is also the recipient of the 2013 AIChE Charles M. A. Stine Award, which is bestowed annually to a leading researcher in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of materials science and engineering, and the 2014 AIChE Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research. She has designed multilayered nanoparticles to deliver a synergistic combination of siRNA or inhibitors with chemotherapy drugs in a staged manner to tumors, leading to significant decreases in tumor growth and a great lowering of toxicity. Professor Hammond has published over 320 papers, and over 20 patent applications.  She is the co-founder and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of LayerBio, Inc. and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Moderna Therapeutics.  

Thr, Oct 21, 2019, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Andlinger Center (Maeder Hall Auditorium)


Fri, Oct 23, 2019, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Andlinger Center (Maeder Hall Auditorium)

Previous Lecturers in the Series


Joseph DeSimone

Carbon, Inc.


Matthew Tirrell

University of ChicagoArgonne National Laboratory


Kristi S. Anseth

University of Colorado at Boulder


Ronald G. Larson

University of Michigan


Enrique Iglesia

University of California at Berkeley


Chaitan Khosla

Stanford University


Klavs Jensen

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Martin Feinberg

Ohio State University


Lanny Schmidt

University of Minnesota


George Stephanopoulos

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Mark E. Davis

California Institute of Technology


Frances H. Arnold

California Institute of Technology


Frank S. Bates

University of Minnesota


Carol K. Hall

North Carolina State University


John F. Brady

California Institute of Technology


William R. Schowalter

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Alice P. Gast

Stanford University


Charles F. Zukoski

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Cherry A. Murray

Bell LaboratoriesLucent Technologies


Eduardo D. Glandt

University of Pennsylvania


John Villadsen

Technical University of Denmark


Robert A. Brown

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Roger W.H. Sargent

Imperial College of ScienceTechnologyand Medicine


George K. Batchelor

Cambridge University


R. Byron Bird

University of Wisconsin at Madison


John F. Davidson

Cambridge University


George Gavalas

California Institute of Technology


Reuel Shinnar

City College of the City University of New York


Dan Luss

University of Houston


Rutherford Aris

University of Minnesota


John M. Prausnitz

University of California at Berkeley


Roger A. Schmitz

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Neal R. Amundson

University of Houston


Jack B. Howard

Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Michel Boudart

Stanford University


L.E. Scriven

University of Minnesota