Four CBE students awarded unrestricted NSF funding

Thursday, May 14, 2020
by Scott Lyon

The National Science Foundation has awarded unrestricted graduate research funding to four Princeton CBE students and recent alumni. They will receive an annual stipend and additional support for three years.

Each spring, the NSF's Graduate Research Fellowship Program selects some of the nation's most promising young scientists and engineers. This year's fellows include Audrey Shih, Class of 2020, Emily de Jong '19, and Lucinda Pastora '18, all of whom concentrated in chemical and biological engineering at Princeton; and Anna Eddelbuettel, who will join Princeton CBE as a Ph.D. candidate in the fall.

Shih will pursue a Ph.D. in chemical engineering at Stanford University, starting in the fall. Her senior thesis addressed problems in environmental remediation, combining polymer science and fluid dynamics, and was advised by assistant professor Sujit Datta.

de Jong '19 is now pursuing a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering at the California Institute of Technology. At Princeton, she received the Shapiro Prize for Academic Excellence and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa and Tau Beta Pi. Her research at Princeton, advised by Datta, addressed clogging in porous media.

Pastora '18 is pursuing a Ph.D. in chemical and biomolecular engineering at Vanderbilt University. She works in John T. Wilson's lab studying problems at the interface of engineering and immunology with a mission to cure, treat and prevent disease. Her senior thesis addressed algae-based bioreactors and was co-advised by professor Robert Prud'homme and assistant professor José Avalos.

Eddelbuettel will join Princeton from Washington University, in St. Louis, where she received a bachelor's degree in biomedical engineering. She worked closely with professor Rohit V. Pappu, studying the physics of proteins and nucleic acids as it relates to disease.

Started in 1951, the NSF's graduate research fellowship is the oldest program of its kind. Past fellows include some of the most accomplished scientists and engineers of the era, such as former U. S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and Google co-founder Sergey Brin. This year, the program selected 2,076 fellows.