Congratulations to Emily Carter, winner of the 2018 ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Emily Carter, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science, won the ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry, sponsored by the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry.
E-Council awards five teachers from chemical and biological engineering
The Princeton Engineering Council honored five instructors this week from the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering with its annual Excellence in Teaching Awards. Winners of the award include professor Richard Register, visiting research scholar C. Morris Smith, and graduate students Michail Alifierakis, Chet Markwalter and Katelyn Randazzo.
Profile of Celeste Nelson showcases the human side of the professor’s work
A profile of Professor Celeste Nelson and her research group hit the front page of the University website today. The article is accompanied by a compelling short video, which captures Professor Nelson’s personal side, introducing us to the ways in which her work in the lab is drawn from her broader experience of life.
How bats drink up?
Drinking is the principal route for water intake for most animal, a critical feature for their sustenance. The rules that govern this challenge, however, are not the same for all creatures, depending on their size and habitat. While suction is a common strategy, water uptake can thus take many forms, such as the use of hairy tongues.
Under pressure: Forces from fluid play an essential role in the developing lung
It is a marvel of nature: During gestation, multiple tissue types cooperate in building the elegantly functional structures of organs, from the brain’s folds to the heart’s multiple chambers. A recent study by Princeton researchers explored this process in lungs and offers insights into the formation of their delicately branching, tree-like airways.
Bob Prud'homme’s work on drug delivery receives Gates Foundation backing
Congrats to Bob Prud'homme and his group for their work in partnership with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.
Brun's group receives the Milton van Dyke Award
At the 2017 American Physical Society (APS) Division of Fluid Dynamics meeting in Denver, Pierre-Thomas Bruns group has been awarded the Milton van Dyke award for its submission at the Gallery of Fluid Motion.
Solutions to Diabetes
Jessica Lembong *09 an associate partner at McKinsey&Company is making the news with her work on Indonesian health are system on tackling Indonesia’s diabetes challenge.
Shape-changing Lasso Peptides
A discovery by Princeton University scientists demonstrates that humans don’t have the monopoly on building the world’s tiniest machines. The researchers found a lasso-shaped bacterial molecule capable of altering its configuration when exposed to heat, a shape-changing ability akin to that used to operate certain synthetic molecular machines.
Data Fusion for Synthesis of Developmental Trajectories

A collaborative project by the Stanislav Y. Shvartsman, Yannis G. Kevrekidis, and Amit Singer (MATH) groups established a new approach to data fusion in studies of embryogenesis and used it to reconstruct multivariable dynamics…